PoMo residents recognized

Mary Anne Cooper was one of two people to be granted the Freedom of the City at a special Port Moody council meeting on Tuesday night.  - DIANE STRANDBERG/THE TRI-CITY NEWS
Mary Anne Cooper was one of two people to be granted the Freedom of the City at a special Port Moody council meeting on Tuesday night.

Port Moody residents whose community work dates back decades were honoured by being granted the Freedom of the City at a special  Port Moody council meeting Tuesday.

Mary Anne Cooper and Ron Curties were awarded with symbolic keys at the event.

Cooper is dedicated to heritage conservation and has often spoken at council meetings. She was the driving force behind establishing Ioco Ghost Town Days, was an active member of the Heritage Commission for seven years and has served on the board of the Port Moody Heritage Society.

Curties has served on at least 26 civic committees and has participated in several signature Port Moody festivals and events. Ioco Ghost Town Days, Golden Spike Days, the Terry Fox Run, the Port Moody Library Links to Literacy Annual Golf Tournament and the Port Moody Foundation have all benefited from his volunteer work.

“Mary Anne Cooper and Ron Curties are active, longtime Port Moody residents and volunteers who have donated thousands of hours to the betterment of the city,” Coun. Gerry Nuttall said in his nomination for the award. “These two very special people have dedicated decades to making Port Moody a better place and deserve to receive the Freedom of the City honour.”

Freedom of the City has a history dating back to the 1600s in England. The honour can be bestowed on individuals, military units or organizations to recognize exemplary public or community service. For military units and organizations, it typically provides them the freedom to parade in the city on special occasions such as Remembrance Day.



Past recipients include:

• Leonard Elsdon (1971)

• Herbert (Bert) C. Flinn (1980)

• Andrew Peller (1982)

• William M. Johnstone (1982)

• Norman J. Wild (1985)

• Judith Forst (1992)

• Al and Nellie Sholund (1998)

• David Driscoll (2000)

• Art Wilkinson (2003)

• Ann Hulbert (2003)

• Royal Canadian Legion, Port Moody Branch No. 119 (2005)

• Elaine Golds (2008)

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, April 2015

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Apr 22 edition online now. Browse the archives.