Tri-City represented on MV committees

The Tri-Cities will have representation on every standing committee at the Metro Vancouver level this year.

Port Coquitlam Mayor Greg Moore, who was acclaimed last month as the regional board chair, last week named the following elected officials from this area to sit on committees:

• aboriginal affairs: Belcarra Mayor Ralph Drew and Coquitlam Coun. Brent Asmundson;

• electoral area: Coquitlam Coun. Mae Reid;

• environment and parks: PoCo Coun. Darrell Penner and Coquitlam Coun. Selina Robinson;

• finance: Reid and PoCo Coun. Brad West;

• housing: Port Moody Mayor Mike Clay and Coquitlam Mayor Richard Stewart;

• intergovernmental and administration: Moore;

• port cities: Clay, Drew and PoCo Coun. Mike Forrest;

• regional culture: PoCo Coun. Michael Wright;

• regional planning and agriculture: Clay, West and Anmore Coun. Kerri Palmer Isaak;

• utilities: Stewart;

• and zero waste: Clay and Coquitlam Coun. Neal Nicholson.

Coquitlam council — which has been at odds with Metro Vancouver recently, in particular over the regional growth strategy plan, and has likened the regional body to an “octopus” because of its spending — last month called for twice as many of its city representatives on Metro committees this year.

Metro board and committee directors are paid $330 a meeting, double if a meeting goes over four hours.



We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, May 2015

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

May 6 edition online now. Browse the archives.