Moore names Metro committees

Port Coquitlam Mayor Greg Moore is also the Metro Vancouver board chairperson for 2014. - photo submitted
Port Coquitlam Mayor Greg Moore is also the Metro Vancouver board chairperson for 2014.
— image credit: photo submitted

The Tri-Cities will once again have a say on every decision made at the regional level this year.

Last week, Metro Vancouver released the names of the 2014 committee members who were chosen last month by board chair and Port Coquitlam Mayor Greg Moore.

Moore told The Tri-City News he selected the composition of each committee based on geography and population, with Vancouver having a representative on all committees.

And because of the complexity of the files, Moore said he largely wanted to maintain the same committee make-up this year as in 2013. Political affiliation of the Metro mayors and councillors was not a consideration, Moore said.

Below, the Tri-City appointments at Metro:

• Aboriginal relations: Belcarra Mayor Ralph Drew (vice chair), Coquitlam Coun. Brent Asmundson

• Environment and parks: Coquitlam Coun. Craig Hodge, PoCo Coun. Darrell Penner

Finance: Coquitlam Coun. Mae Reid

• Housing: PoMo Coun. Gerry Nuttall, Coquitlam Mayor Richard Stewart, PoCo Coun. Brad West

• Intergovernmental and administration: PoCo Mayor Greg Moore

• Intergovernmental and administration (electoral area sub-committee): Coquitlam Coun. Mae Reid

• Intergovernmental and administration (regional culture sub-committee): PoCo Coun. Michael Wright

• Mayors: PoCo Mayor Greg Moore (chair), Anmore Mayor Heather Anderson, PoMo Mayor Mike Clay, Belcarra Mayor Ralph Drew, Coquitlam Mayor Richard Stewart

• Regional planning and agriculture: PoMo Mayor Mike Clay, Anmore Coun. Kerri Palmer Isaak, Coquitlam Mayor Richard Stewart, PoCo Coun. Brad West

• Transportation: PoMo Mayor Mike Clay, Belcarra Mayor Ralph Drew, PoCo Coun. Mike Forrest

• Utilities: Coquitlam Mayor Richard Stewart (vice chair)

• Zero waste: PoMo Coun. Rick Glumac, Coquitlam Coun. Neal Nicholson, PoCo Coun. Michael Wright

As for the Metro board, the five Tri-City mayors are voting members plus Coquitlam Coun. Mae Reid (the city gets two representatives based on its population).

Last year, board and committee members received $354 for meetings up to four hours and $708 for meetings that went longer.





We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

VIDEO: Witnesses describe scene at Parliament Hill; Raw footage of Ottawa shootings
Park app can help lost hikers
If it’s too cold for trash, they’ll wait
ELECTION 2014: Larry Ryan announces candidacy in Coquitlam
Coquitlam teacher makes ‘dirtyprettychic’ music
Lockdown at research station in Agassiz following Ottawa shooting
VIDEO: Christmas Greetings from Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper
City streamlines festival grant process
Avoid future chaos outside schools, council tells staff

Community Events, October 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Oct 22 edition online now. Browse the archives.