Skip to content

Towner to take over Coquitlam mayor's seat on Metro board

Coquitlam Coun. Brent Asmundson will also step in for Mayor Richard Stewart at the TransLink table.
Coquitlam Coun. Teri Towner.

Coquitlam will have a fresh set of eyes on Metro Vancouver’s board of directors next year.

Last month, city council unanimously approved Coun. Teri Towner to take over Mayor Richard Stewart’s seat on the regional board.

She will join Coun. Craig Hodge, a longtime board director; their positions carry four votes each — one more than last year following the release of the 2021 census this year.

The 41 directors on the 2023 Metro board will be led by George Harvie (Delta) as chair and John McEwen (Anmore) as vice chair.

Metro board and committee members receive $490 for a meeting, or double if it goes over four hours.

Coquitlam is advancing the following names for Metro committees next year:

  • Coun. Teri Towner: Climate Action, Housing
  • Coun. Craig Hodge: Finance, Flood Resiliency, Regional Parks, Zero Waste
  • Coun. Matt Djonlic: Electoral Area, Regional Parks
  • Coun. Robert Mazzarolo: Regional Planning
  • Coun. Steve Kim: Liquid Waste, Regional Culture
  • Coun. Dennis Marsden: Finance, Invest Vancouver, Performance and Audit, Zero Waste
  • Coun. Trish Mandewo: Indigenous Relations
  • Coun. Brent Asmundson: Invest Vancouver, Water
  • Mayor Richard Stewart: Regional Parks, Regional Planning

Meanwhile, Stewart also told council on Nov. 23 that he is stepping down from the TransLink Mayors' Council to honour a promise to his wife after re-election to "do less regional work."

His transportation seat will be filled by Coun. Brent Asmundson, a retired bus driver for Coast Mountain Bus Company.