Adanacs sweep BCJALL final, prep for Minto

The Coquitlam Adanacs are BC Junior A Lacrosse League champions, but the big prize is yet to come.

The Adanacs defeated the Victoria Shamrocks 10-7 Sunday to win the best-of-three league final in two straight games. Both teams have already qualified to play in the Minto Cup national junior lacrosse championship, which is being hosted by the BCJALL at the Langley Events Centre Aug. 15 to 26.

article continues below

Coquitlam had a 6-1 lead after the first period, and then increased that to 9-1 midway through the second frame before Victoria scored five straight goals to get back in the game.

But Colin Munro scored to make it 10-6 for the Adanacs before Victoria’s Brayden Brown closed out the scoring with just under two minutes left in regulation time.

Dennon Armstrong had six points to led the Adanacs’ attack, while Munro added three assists to his goal.

Nate Faccin and Matteo Tack teamed up in the Adanacs’ net to stop 38 of Victoria’s 45 shots. Their teammates put 41 shots at Victoria keepers Brody Harris and Ryan Atkinson.

Read Related Topics

© Copyright Tri-City News

Report a Typo or Error

Tri-City News POLL

Is it realistic for all cities to keep property tax increases below the rate of inflation?

or  view results