Sports Briefs: A's win B.C.'s

Coquitlam team defeats Whalley to take provincial crown


The Coquitlam A’s are Little League B.C. champions after taking down Whalley 16-12 in the provincial finals last week.

article continues below

The game capped off a six-team tournament that featured district champs from across the province, including Hastings, Layritz (Victoria), Dunbar, Lynn Valley and the two finalists, Whalley and Coquitlam. 

“The coaches and I are so proud of everyone on this team,” said Russ Hunter, the club’s manager. “They all worked so hard to get here and they deserved to win.”

Players are between the ages of nine and 10 and do not have a world series tournament like the players in the 11 to 18 divisions, meaning the provincial championship is the highest honour. 

“Every baseball player’s dream is to play in a World Series,” said team vice-president Steve Tickner. “Over 25 [nine and 10-year-old] teams started their journey in June to become provincial champions. This is their World Series.”

For more information about the Coquitlam A’s Little League squad go to




Four Tri-City athletes won bronze as part of the Fraser River Zone 4 baseball team competing at the B.C. Summer Games in Abbotsford last week.

Coquitlam’s Callum Borden, Allan Dai and Brent Foreman and Port Coquitlam’s Grady Stanyer were a part of the squad that played to a third-place showing at the provincial tournament. 

The Fraser River squad took third after defeating the Fraser Valley Zone 3 team and finished behind second-place team Vancouver Island-Central Coast and gold-medal winners Vancouver Coastal Zone 5. 



Braden Bridge saved a penalty shot and helped set up a game-winning Blake Freeman goal in overtime to help the Tri-City Raiders win bronze at the under-15 Western Canadian Cup Challenge Tournament. 

On their way to the finals the club defeated Calgary, Delta and Surrey before losing to the Valley team 3-1 in the semifinals. That set the stage for a bronze-medal match that saw the club use extra time to secure the win.

 The team also consisted of Ben Ito, Harjun Dhaliwal, Nico Pietramala, Dailen Sem, Mateo Prodanovic, Carson Maurice, Luca Cavasin, Joshua Volpe, Ethan Apostoliuk, Alec Pettingale, Kyle Manning, Matthew Ferreira, David Andrecan, Sean Brown, Daniel Choi and Carsten Shrimpton.


Read Related Topics

© Copyright Tri-City News

Tri-City News POLL

Do you think Port Moody’s Ioco townsite would make a good heritage attraction?

or  view results